Electricity Distribution

The city purchases its electricity primarily from CPS Energy. The electricity is delivered to two substations owned by the Lower Colorado River Authority (LCRA), but each shared by the distribution utilities of the City of Boerne and Bandera Electric Cooperative. One substation is located at the intersection of Adler Road and Plant Street, the other near the south IH 10 interchange, both in Boerne.

Power Delivery

Electric power is delivered to each substation at 138 Kilovolts (kV) and is converted to 7,200 volts. The city-owned primary power lines carry the 7,200 volts to transformers within a distribution system that converts the voltage to lower levels that meet our customers' electric power requirements.

The city's electric service area is defined by the Public Utility Commission and includes most of the city limits of Boerne, as well as some areas outside the city limits.

Distributed Generation

The City of Boerne's Distributed Generation Ordinance (PDF) allows for the orderly, safe, and effective interconnection and parallel operation of Distributed Generation facilities within the City of Boerne electric system by customers of the City of Boerne Electric Utility.